Richmond Home

Sustainability Awards Dinner

April 17, 2018
The Web
Student Activities Complex

Register To Attend

Each year the Office for Sustainability and leaders of campus sustainability groups host a Sustainability Banquet to reflect on the year's accomplishments and to recognize University of Richmond community members for their outstanding contributions to sustainability.

Sustainability leaders are nominated by their peers and at the dinner, Sustainability Leadership Awards are presented. Nominate an award winner here.

This year's banquet theme is Food (In)Justice and Dominic Barrett, executive director of Shalom Farms, will be our guest speaker. Shalom Farms is a food access project designed to benefit people in urban areas. The dinner at this year's banquet will feature vegan and gluten free options.  

2017 Sustainability Leadership Award Recipients

Abby Houser, a staff member, received an award for her crucial role in organizing the University's first ever RecycleMania basketball game. This game was part of the RecycleMania competition. 87% of the waste from the game was composted or recycled and only 13% went to the landfill.

Diana Nguyen, a student, was recognized for her leadership of Spiders CARE, UR's first animal rights group. She helped bring together an amazing, dedicated group of people and worked hard to educate her peers through events, digital media, and in person interactions. 

Joanne Kong, a faculty member, was given an award for her work to raise awareness of, educate about, and inspire action towards a plant-based diet. 

Donald Edmonds, a student, was recognized for his involvement in the Office for Sustainability, Earth Lodge, and SEEDS. Fellow students and faculty in the Geography and Environmental Studies departments also praised his dependability, creativity, and leadership. 

Mary Finley-Brook, a faculty member, received an award for her work with Green Schools and her work as an activist, educator, and social scientist. She has long been a cornerstone of sustainability at the University and has worked with dozens of students on sustainability issues on campus and abroad.

2016 Sustainability Leadership Award Recipients

David Donaldson, Operations & Summer Programs Coordinator in Events, Conferences, & Support Services, has been a longtime sustainability leader on campus. He was recognized for his management of the community garden, leadership in URSA, spearheading the zero waste graduation, and his work on green events.

Kristine Grayson, Assistant Professor of Biology, was recognized for her work on the 2016 Power Dialog, her sustainability and environmental research with students in an Environmental Studies capstone course, her summer and lab research with Biology students, and her role on the Environmental Studies advisory committee.

Two students were also awarded Sustainability Leadership certificates.

Maggie Johnson was recognized for her role as the founding President of Food Recovery Network at the University of Richmond.

Peter Tight was recognized for his work with the paper towel composting project in Puryear Hall.

Stay Connected

faecbook   twitter   instagram      

Sign up for our email list to receive the latest information about sustainability-related events or announcements